Ayurveda: The Ancient Path to Modern Well-Being

Ayurveda is the oldest surviving medical system in the world which has continued on today. Derived from the Sanskrit root words - ayus (life) and ved’ (knowledge) – this healing science offers a rich, comprehensive outlook to a healthy life. Its origins go back nearly 5,000 years. It was developed and practiced by the same sages or rishis, who laid the foundations of the Vedic civilization in India, by organizing the fundamentals of life into optimal systems.

The main source of knowledge in this field are the Vedas — a collection of four books.

The most prominent is the Atharvaveda, also known as Knowledge of the Magic Formulas, which dates back to 1,000 BCE.

Ayurveda as it is practiced today is mostly comprised of three texts:

-       Charaka Samhita

-       Sushruta Samhita

-       Astanga Hridayam  


Ayurveda is influenced by the philosophy of creation and manifestation. The Sankhya philosophy is one of the most influential of the (six) systems of the Indian perspectives of knowledge. The word Sankhya means ‘number’, relating to the number and nature of the ultimate constituents of the universe.

When used as a term, Sankhya means ‘perfect knowledge’. It is a dualistic realism as it advocates two ultimate realities: Prakriti (matter) and Purusha (self or spirit). Purusha is the unmanifested, passive, attribute-less pure Being. Prakriti is the creative force of Creation. Purusha is male, while Prakriti is female energy. These two aspects of Cosmic Consciousness work in harmony with each other and are the source of all existence.


In Ayurveda, health is defined as a state of balance between mind, body and environment. Doshas refer to one’s unique physical and mental constitution, which influence your personal well-being. Ayurveda offers personalized recommendations based on your dosha for the treatment of ‘dis-ease’ (an imbalance of our natural state of ‘ease’). Doshas are the life energies behind all our bodily functions. They are derived from combinations of the five primal elements: Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Ether.

There are three doshas:

Vata (Air + Ether): Energy that controls functions in the body associated with motion.

Pitta (Fire + Water): Energy that controls the body's metabolic systems.

Kapha (Earth + Water): Energy that controls growth in the body.

Recommended Blog
Kapha Pacifying Diet Kapha Pacifying Diet
Pitta Pacifying Diet Pitta Pacifying Diet
Top 7 Myths About Ayurveda – Busted! Top 7 Myths About Ayurveda – Busted!
The Weight Loss Myth: Separating Truth from Fiction The Weight Loss Myth: Separating Truth from Fiction
We are All Made Of These Five Elements  We are All Made Of These Five Elements

We are the world's first Ayurvedic and natural wellness platform launched back in 1998. We have trustworthy and actionable content, Ayurvedic doctors and wellness experts, and a large selection of products to suit every need. Adopt a natural and holistic lifestyle with us today.